Eight Scientists Of Chinese Ancestry Elected As New NAE Members

The U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 84 new members and 22 foreign members, bringing the total U.S. membership to 2,281 and the number of foreign members to 249, the organization’s president C.D. Mote Jr. announced today.

Eight scientists with Chinese ancestry were elected among the new members this year, including Microsoft Corp’s executive vice president Heung-Yeung Shum (pictured), and Chen Xiangli, vice president at General Electric Co. and president of GE China Technology Center in Shanghai.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice or education.

A list of the new members with Chinese ancestry:

Jingsheng Jason Cong: chancellor’s professor and director, Center for Dynamic-Specific Computing, computer science department at University of California, Los Angeles. Elected for pioneering contributions to application-specific programmable logic via innovations in field-programmable gate array synthesis.

Tsu-Jae King Liu: TSMC Distinguished Professor in Microelectronics and chair, department of electrical engineering and computer sciences, University of California, Berkeley. Elected for contributions to the fin field effect transistor and its application to nanometer complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor technology.

Xiangli Chen: vice president at General Electric Co. and president at GE China Technology Center in Shanghai. Elected for pioneering work in optical sensing and precision laser processing, and for leadership in globalizing industrial research and development.

Ruby L. Leung: laboratory fellow, atmospheric sciences and global change division, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, U.S. Department of Energy, Richland, Washington. Elected for leadership in regional and global computer modeling of the Earth’s climate and hydrological processes.

Joe H. Chow: professor, electrical and computer systems engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, N.Y. Elected for technical contributions to the modeling, analysis, and control of large-scale power systems.

Dongxiao (Don) Zhang: dean of engineering and chair professor, water resources and petroleum engineering, Peking University Beijing. Elected for pioneering work in stochastic modeling of flow in porous media.

Yonggang Huang: Walter P. Murphy Professor of Engineering, department of mechanical engineering, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois. Elected for pioneering work on mechanics of stretchable electronics and mechanically guided, deterministic 3-D assembly.

Heung-Yeung Shum: executive vice president, technology and research at Microsoft Corp. Elected for contributions to computer vision and computer graphics, and for leadership in industrial research and product development.

Shum is the only member listed as new foreign members.

The newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C. in October.

China Money Network Subscription
Caishen.Co - Primary Data for China Secondary Investment and Stock Markets